On A Mission

My last blog spoke of my story and heart for starting Appreciation Always Wins,  creating a place for myself and others to shout our love of this country and especially those who serve in our military.

Last January while writing down my goals I realized that I could be of real help and value to military families. I also knew that I wanted to give back to the military in some way. So I started this blog, founded a group for Appreciation Always Wins. The purpose was to let everyone know that even in our super charged busy lives there are tools and resources to show our appreciation in very personal ways that touches active duty service members and military families lives.

It has been so exciting to share not only my product but cool resources, like Green Beans Coffee, and their Cup of Joe for a Joe,   www.greenbeanscoffee.com/coj/index.php or AnySoldier.com  www.anysoldier.com or Soldier’s Angels  www.soldiersangels.org with everyone who friends us or subscribes.   Even with my small blog and groups I believe that I have raised the noise level and awareness of appreciation for our troops and their families.

It is funny, several years ago with my previous business, Gargee, The Reading Fairy I set a goal to do a special project “Say Thanks to The Troops Kids”.  I can’t tell you how many people told me I couldn’t do it.  How many people said it would never happen, and how many “NO’s” and roadblocks I hit.  Look out when you tell me “You  Can’t Do It”!  Of course, it happened and to this day I am so thrilled to have spent 3 days at Ft. Carson with the most amazing kids, teachers and families. 

I am on a mission again.  It will happen!  I am looking forward to sharing all about it each step of the way with you.

Other happenings with Appreciation Always Wins.

I am looking for any guest bloggers that would like to contribute to Appreciation Always Wins.  There are so many great stories about our soldiers, their families and our country to be shared so please let me know if you are interested.  As always this in not political and is positive, but of course you already knew that.  LOL!

I am also starting a networking group for Moms and Dads and really anyone who loves our troops.  It will be called Proud 2 B M.O. M. S.   (Moms of Military Serving).  Recently a friend’s son left for basic training and another friend had a son who deployed, and I thought it would be great to meet up for breakfast or lunch to share resources, support and pride.  I will let you know how it goes.  Cool Stuff.

Thanks for reading and please let me know your thoughts. I also really appreciate your subscribing and sending your friends to this blog too. Happy Halloween!

Happily,

Margaret C. Harmon

Spencer Update: It has been said that children and animals watch everything you do and will do the same.  I know this to be true.  We have a door into our formal living room that  is closed to keep Spencer out.  In the past few weeks I have gone in and out of this door.  The latch on the door is weak and Spencer has watched as I try to keep this door closed.  Okay, you guessed it, he has now figured out that if he shoves his body against the door, it opens and he is free to go into all kinds of places.  Smart dog.  I guess I need to get that latch fixed.

About Appreciation Always Wins

I have a passion for finding ways to show appreciation to our military and their families. "People will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel. - Maya Angelou
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to On A Mission

  1. It's just a web site man! says:

    Hey I just sent $6 to a soldier through the green bean site. What an awesome idea. Thanks for posting that. I have a poll about coffee on my site if you are interested.

    http://ginzotalk.wordpress.com

  2. Pingback: AnySoldier.com Adopt a Soldier! You Can Pick The Branch Of Service Your Soldier Is In! « Taking On A Cause byPatsy McCaw-Yager,Englewood, Fl.

Leave a comment